The Socialist Education Project

Socialist education is important for both strengthening the movement and building greater connection and cooperation, and informing effective action.

The Socialist Education Project of the Committees of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism will sponsor online discussion and resources and in-person programs.  It will produce literature, visual aids and cultural products of value to help create a socialism that both draws upon its history and is relevant to building a twenty-first century socialism.

Everyone is invited to participate!



The Online University of the Left

A drawing of young Karl Marx

Why a Marxist School?

Karl Marx’s ideas are a common touchstone for many people working for change.  His historical materialism, his many contributions to political economy and class analysis, all continue to serve his core values–the self-emancipation of the working class and a vision of a classless society.  There are naturally many trends in Marxism that have developed over the years, and new ones are on the rise today.  All of them and others who want to see this project succeed are welcome here. A PDF flyer file for spreading the word is HERE

The Socialist Upsurge in the US:

historical context and future prospects

CCDS Socialist Education Project national conference call and discussion

Dec. 18, 9 pm ET, 8pm CT, 7pm. MT, 6pm PT

Socialism is more and more popular in recent years, especially among youth.  The Sanders 2016 campaign was the best showing ever in presidential primaries by a democratic socialist in a major US political party.  Membership has surged in socialist groups, especially Democratic Socialists of America whose 30,000 members is the most of a US socialist organization since World War II.  Have we reached a historic turning point in opposition to capitalism and moving to create a better world?

These topics will be addressed by two prominent speakers: Retired Brown University professor Paul Buhle will place the recent upsurge in historical context.  Paul is the author of the highly regarded book Marxism in the United States: a History of the American Left.  

Joseph Schwartz, longtime member of the DSA national political committee, will address the prospects of DSA and its democratic socialist program in the coming period.  Joe is Professor of Political Science at Temple U and author of The Future of Democratic Equality and also The Permanence of the Political.

Discussion will follow

To join call:

Dial-in Number:(641) 715-0867

Participant Code:  710640

MARKING THE 100TH ANNIVERSARY OF THE RUSSIAN REVOLUTION

2017 left unity project: A series of programs and discussions: sponsored by Committees of Correspondence for Democracy and Socialism 

 Purpose: to preserve and advance understanding of one of the most important events in both modern world history but especially in the development of the people’s and socialist movements for revolution and liberation.